Hard Choices

So this is the first week of me trying to eat healthy and lose weight. And already I can tell I need to tighten the reigns more than I would like.

I’ve been keeping a food journal and for the most part, I do pretty good for most of the day. But there is one thing that blows my calorie count right out of the water.

BOOZE.

Now, I don’t think I have a drinking problem or something like that. But, I am taking notice of how much of my social interaction revolves around sunny patios, cold beers, and good company. While I enjoy the beer, I think I enjoy the company most. But, sometimes when looking for opportunities to hang out with friends, I just can’t think of anything else to do.

So… I always seem to go with my Ol’ Standby. “Hey! Want to go grab a drink?” And that’s when my daily calorie allotment goes to complete shit. And let’s be honest, grabbing drinks sounds like a hell of a lot more fun than “Hey, let’s go sweat our asses off and remind ourselves just how out of shape we are!”

I’m discovering that even just a couple tottie’s and my numbers jump. No amount of rabbit food is going to offset that damage a couple cocktails can do.

Fuck.

So, now I have a new resolution… I’m only going to drink once a week. Since I enjoyed adult beverages last night while out of town, that means that “fun,” as I currently define it is off limits for the rest of the week.

This is shaping up to be a long week.

 

Leave a Reply

