Raw Beet & Mandarin Salad with Mint

So far things, are going good and I’m down 4.9 pounds. However, the rabbit food is getting old. I’ve realized that I always start off strong with the veggie goodness, and then I get so tired of it that I end up going on a binge of badness.

The key for me I think is variety. Now that the weather is awesomely spring-ish, I think this might be the perfect salad for me. Thank you SkinnyTaste.com for giving me lots of fabulous options to keep my burger craving at bay!

184 calories
Total Time: 15 minutes

INGREDIENTS:

2 (4 oz) snack cups mandarin oranges, in juice
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
2 medium beets, ends trimmed
1 sprig mint, leaves torn

DIRECTIONS:

To spiralize the beets, using gloves to prevent staining your hands, peel the beet and trim off the stem end then insert the thinner end into the round blade of the spiralizer, keeping it centered. Spiralize using the blade with the smallest triangles. Using scissors, cut the beet spirals into smaller 6-inch-long pieces so it’s easier to eat. Drain the mandarin oranges, reserving 2 tablespoons juice. In a mixing bowl, combine the juice, olive oil and red wine vinegar. Toss with the beets and let it sit for 15 minutes. Divide in 2 plates, top with mandarin oranges and add mint.

NUTRITION INFORMATION

Yield: 2 servings
Serving Size: 1 salad
Amount Per Serving:
Smart Points: 6
Points +: 5
Calories: 184
Total Fat: 10g
Saturated Fat: 1g
Cholesterol: 0mg
Sodium: 148mg
Carbohydrates: 23g
Fiber: 2g
Sugar: 20g
Protein: 1g

Leave a Reply

